Skip to content

No walkies this week

February 22, 2010

No outing for me this week as my son has had the chicken pox for a couple of days now.  He’s pretty miserable with sores all over his body and in his mouth, poor fella. Hopefully he’ll start to improve soon.

I was thinking of tackling Arderin, which forms the high point of both Laois and Offaly. The summit can be reached by a short walk from the Glendine Gap, so it suits my current need to not disappear off from home for long days. The road through the Glendine Gap sounds like it provides access to some lovely scenery so I’m looking forward to seeing the area.

I got some gear during the week, which I ordered from Cotswold Outdoor. Sorry Irish retailers, but I couldn’t find the items I was looking for at a competitive price on any of your sites. Anyway, now I’ll have gaiters and Helly Hansen base layers next time I head out, rather than wet trousers and thermals from the last millenium. I also got a bivvy bag and a map case to stop my maps getting trashed. Plenty more gear to get or upgrade but it’s a start.

I’m looking forward to attending a talk on Wednesday this week by Simon Stewart entitled ‘Summits and Summiteering in Ireland’ which sounds like it will be a great source of information and perhaps a chance to see some of the faces behind the names on the site. More info can be found on the Mountain Views website.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

